There are 14 remaining British Dependent Territories in the world.  In most dependent territories there is considerable self-government, with a legislature and civil service; Britain has responsibility for defense, internal security and foreign relations.  British policy is to give independence to those dependent territories that want it, and not to force it on those that do not.

  • Anguilla
  • Bermuda
  • British Antarctic Territory
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Cayman Islands
  • Falkland Islands
  • Gibraltar
  • Montserrat
  • Pitcairn Islands
  • Saint Helena
  • Saint Helena Dependencies (Ascension, Tristan de Cunha)
  • South Turks and Caicos Islands
  • Georgia and the Sandwich Islands